Look, Mom, I’m farming

Betsey took this awesome picture of me getting ready to attempt cultivating the garlic with Sam a couple weeks ago.   That mid-March day was warm and sunny t-shirt weather.  For my moving day tomorrow, it is shaping up to be 45 degrees and constant drizzle.   Oh well!

Working with Sam has been really fun.   She is very calm and attentive and knows how to do her job.  I’m looking forward to learning more about using draft horses and also watching the development of the two young fillies that Betsey has in training.  Cool stuff.

Next time I write I’ll be living at the farm!

3 Responses

  1. That’s a wonderful picture! I’m so happy for you!

  2. “Farmers dealt with tragedy not by closing their hearts to the suffering within nature but by opening their minds to the large truth of nature. Farmers understood, even in their little tame corner of the natural world, that nature is a force larger than themselves, with its own rhythms, its own purpose, its own sense of morality…”

    from Steven Budiansky’s “The Convenant of the Wild: Why Animals Chose Domestication,” a book well worth reading.

    • Thanks, M & D. I like your quote Dad, it reminded me of many things I’ve read in Wendell Berry’s work. This is one quote among many that spoke to me:

      “We have lived our lives by the assumption that what was good for us would be good for the world. We have been wrong. We must change our lives so that it will be possible to live by the contrary assumption, that what is good for the world will be good for us. And that requires that we make the effort to know the world and learn what is good for it.”
      — Wendell Berry

Leave a Reply

