I Wrote A Poem

“I wrote a Poem, ” I said.

“What?”  “Really?”

Said everyone.

I, who have often proclaimed  “I don’t ‘get’ Art” with half-joking sincerity?

I, who have not written a poem since being assigned to in class?

Well, I said, it’s a very prose-like poem.

It doesn’t rhyme or use alliteration or really any proper poem-y techniques at all.

I just wrote down the thoughts that came into my head

The way blog posts used to come into my head

But it was actually easier.

Not having to worry about punctuation and complete sentences.

The thoughts came out more clearly and concisely.

Could it be I think it poetry?

Me?

Could it be this finally dawns on me age 31?

Maybe I’ll write another

Just to try it out.

2 Responses

  1. Maybe you should.

  2. Hey becky do you have any idea about farm equipment tools?

Leave a Reply

